Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson
> News & Community Info > News Releases > Last Call for Public Health Hero Nominations

News Release

Last Call for Public Health Hero Nominations

Comments Off

Department: Health & Environment
Release Date: May 26, 2017

Contact Information:

Katie O'Donnell

Do you know someone who lives or works in Larimer County who has contributed in an extraordinary way to public health?

The Larimer County Department of Health and Environment is accepting nominations for the eleventh Joseph Jabaily Public Health Hero Award. The Jabaily award was created by the Larimer County Board of Health in honor and in memory of Dr. Joseph Jabaily, a Loveland neurologist, community activist, volunteer, and member of many local boards who died of injuries from a tragic accident in a charity bicycle race in summer of 2004. 

Public health focuses on protecting and improving the health of entire communities—not just individuals—by supporting policies that promote health, tracking health risks and working to reduce them, enforcing health regulations, offering assistance to persons at high health risk, especially children and their families, facilitating access to needed health services, and promoting healthy lifestyles.

The award honors an individual or group who has contributed in an extraordinary way to public health in Larimer County or has made an outstanding contribution to public health in Larimer County over time.  Nominations for the Award must be received no later than 5 p.m., Tuesday, May 30, 2017. Only one nomination per person will be accepted. Submit a nomination at 

Individual criteria for nominees are:

  • Nominees must either live or work in Larimer County.
  • Nominee does not need to be a public health professional (could be a judge, a volunteer, a teacher, etc.).
  • Nominations can be either for an individual or a team effort.
  • Nominee cannot be a current employee of the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment or a current Board of Health member.

At the time of his death, Dr. Jabaily was running as an unaffiliated candidate for the Colorado state legislature, hoping to improve public health, health care, and education in Colorado.

Recent recipients of the award are the City of Fort Collins Healthy Homes program, 2016; Boys and Girls Clubs of Larimer County, 2015; public health consultant and retired Deputy Director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Lee Thielen, M.P.A, 2014; Austin Bailey, MD, program director and co-founder, the Family Medicine Center and its Residency Program, Fort Collins, 2013; Jennifer Anderson, professor emeritus, Food Science and Nutrition, CSU, 2012; Ginny Riley, former director of Larimer County Health and Human Services, 2011; Carol Plock and the Health District of Northern Larimer County, 2010. Visit for a complete list of past recipients.

Background Image: Cirque Meadows by Adam Johnson. All rights reserved.