Dream Lake iced over - RMNP
closure

County Offices and Courts will be closed on Monday, February 15, 2016 in observance of the President's Day Holiday. The Landfill will be open. Critical services at Larimer County are not disrupted by closures.

 
> Departments > Clerk & Recorder > Vehicle Licensing > Registration > Proof of Insurance Requirements

Larimer County Vehicle Licensing

Proof of Insurance Requirements

All motor vehicles are required to be insured.

Colorado law requires that if you drive a vehicle on public roads, you must have insurance on that vehicle. Insurance companies are required to be licensed or authorized to sell insurance in Colorado.

Note: New residents to the state of Colorado, who have insurance coverage from an out of state insurance company may continue to use the out of state insurance until coverage expires. At that point, the owner must obtain proof of insurance indicating Colorado qualifying coverage on that specific vehicle without the name of any other state listed. Proof of such insurance will be required to renew the vehicle registration.

Acceptable forms of proof of insurance can include, but might not be limited to: paper card, email printout, computer information, visible on phone or other device, faxed copy (i.e., "any legible visible form").

CRS 42-7-604, requires the State of Colorado to contract with a provider to develop and maintain a database of insured vehicles. Any insurance company that writes vehicle liability policies in Colorado is required to report new policyholders and cancelled policies at least monthly to the provider.

CRS 42-3-105 (1)(d)(I). This law, effective July 1999, states that the County Clerk and Recorder Office shall not register a motor vehicle unless the applicant has a complying motor vehicle insurance policy pursuant to part 6 of article 4 of title 10, CRS or a certificate of self-insurance in full force.

These two laws were enacted to ensure that Colorado motorists comply with mandatory auto insurance laws. The intent of the law is to reduce the rising number of uninsured drivers and vehicles in Colorado. Accepted forms of proof of insurance required must identify the name(s) of the applicant(s):

  • A letter from your insurance agent or insurer on company letterhead verifying insurance coverage
  • The declaration page from the insurance policy
  • An insurance binder or policy
  • An insurance card for your vehicle

Any of the above mentioned forms of proof of insurance must include:

  • The effective dates of coverage
  • The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • The make and year of the vehicle

Minimum coverage required for compliance are:

  1. $25,000 legal liability for bodily injury or death to any one person in any one accident
  2. $50,000 legal liability coverage for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident
  3. $15,000 property damage

Visit the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies webpage for further information regarding automobile insurance requirements, additional coverage, recent news, and other helpful insurance topics.

Driver's licenses are not issued by our office, they may be obtained at the Colorado Department of Revenue, Driver's License Division
Background Image: Dream Lake frozen over in Rocky Mountain National Park by Bryce Bradford. All rights reserved.