Larimer County Offices, Courts, and Landfill are all closed on Monday, Sept. 5, 2016 for the Labor Day Holiday. Critical services at Larimer County are not interrupted by closures. Critical services at Larimer County are not disrupted by closures.
CRS 42-3-114 - Expiration: Every vehicle registration under this article shall expire on the last day of the month at the end of each twelve-month registration period and shall be renewed, upon application by the owner, the payment of the fees required by law, not later than the last day of the month following the date of expiration.
CRS 42-3-112 - If a vehicle subject to taxation is not registered when required by law, the vehicle owner shall pay a late fee of $25.00 for each month for which the vehicle is not registered; except that the amount of the late fee shall not exceed $100.00. The late fee shall be due when the vehicle is registered.
The renewal notice contains information related to the renewal requirements. Information is listed in the lower left hand corner of the notice that may identify if proof of insurance or emissions is required. The total renewal amount is listed on the face of the card. The back of the card does reflect the breakdown of license fees and ownership tax being charged. The information is located directly under the barcode on the left side of the card. The first figure displays the license fee and the second figure represents the ownership tax without the decimal points. For example, 0000300 is actually $3.00.
To avoid any extended delays, when submitting a renewal, please be sure to include the following:
Larimer County residents are eligible to renew vehicle registrations online. The online Vehicle Registration Renewal application allows you to renew your eligible vehicle registration quickly and easily via the Internet, when it is most convenient for you. With the application, you can renew one or several vehicles in a single transaction using a credit card, debit card, or electronic check. Additional fees apply.
You will have the opportunity to review all applicable fees prior to finalizing your transaction. At that point, you will have the option to cancel your online transaction.
Colorado.gov as a third party working in partnership with the state of Colorado receives no federal, state, or local tax dollars, and therefore Portal Administration fees are used to develop, maintain, pay for overhead costs, and enhance the state's official web portal. This is made possible with a contract administered under the authority of Colorado's Statewide Internet Portal Authority as designated in statute (CRS 24-37.7-101, et seq.)
Renewals may be mailed in to the office at PO Box 1429, Fort Collins, CO. 80522. Please allow two weeks processing time for mail in renewals. The processing time may be extended in some situations if there is any question regarding insurance or emissions records that are transmitted to Larimer County by outside entities.
No time to wait? Feel free to leave your registration at any of our locations and the registration will be updated the following business day and mailed to you.
The Fort Collins office is located at 200 West Oak Street.
The Loveland office is located at 205 East 6th Street.
The Estes Park office is located at 1601 Brodie Avenue.
Office hours for in Fort Collins and Loveland are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Estes Park office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. All locations are open Monday through Friday with the exception of holidays, General Election Days, and the day after Thanksgiving.